Tax Litigation

Transfer Pricing

Tax Planning

Barsalou Lawson Rheault

Barsalou Lawson Rheault is recognized as one of Canada’s leading tax law firms. Our tax attorneys represent a diverse client base, including many FT Global 500 companies, across a wide range of industries.

Over more than 20 years, the firm has acquired top-tier expertise in tax dispute resolution and litigation, transfer pricing, international tax, tax incentives (SR&ED, e-business and resources credits), tax planning and indirect taxes for multinational corporations, individuals and trusts.

SERVICES

Tax Litigation

The firm’s tax litigation practice covers all aspects of tax dispute resolution including complex audits, administrative appeals, competent authority (MAP) and judicial proceedings before federal and provincial courts in Canada.

Our tax litigation team’s expertise is recognized in all areas of tax dispute resolution, with a particular emphasis on transfer pricing, tax incentives (SR&ED, e-business and resources tax credits), rectification, commodity taxes, voluntary disclosures, information requirements and other audit measures. We regularly act for clients before provincial and federal courts at the trial and appellate levels, as well as at the competent authority level under mutual agreement procedures (MAP) and advance pricing arrangements (APA).

Because of its extensive and wide experience, our team can offer practical and innovative solutions that help protect your business interests and efficiently resolve your tax disputes.

Transfer Pricing

The firm is recognized as one of Canada’s leading law firms in transfer pricing, both at the advisory and dispute resolution level.  We assist multinational enterprises in all facets of their Canadian tax liability, from advising on transactions, to making quarterly provisions for Fin 48 and other reporting purposes, to defending positions at any level from audit, through the administrative appeals level, to competent authority proceedings and, as needed and as a last resort, before the courts.

Our lawyers regularly assist the firm’s clients in managing transfer pricing risks associated with ongoing operations, business restructurings (e.g., mergers, acquisitions and divestitures) and special transactions (e.g.,  migration or licensing of intellectual and other property).  This includes implementing best practices in the preparation of transfer pricing documentation to optimize compliance and minimize the risk of adjustments and penalties.

We also represent taxpayers seeking to apply for mutual agreement procedures (MAP), advance pricing arrangements (APA) and accelerated competent authority procedures (ACAP).  Our lawyers work collaboratively with our clients’ finance, tax and legal teams as well as their external advisors to provide effective solutions to their transfer pricing challenges and protect privileged exchanges.

 

Tax Planning

The firm offers an extensive array of tax planning services including for the structure of domestic and cross-border transactions, sales and commodity tax optimization, corporate reorganizations (mergers, acquisitions or divestitures), financing transactions, the purchase and sale of a business, immigration, trusts and charitable organizations.

Our priority is to develop sound tax planning that minimizes audit and litigation risk. This firm’s extensive experience in tax audits and litigation allows us to better evaluate such risks and to develop solutions suited to your specific needs.

CONTACT

2000, avenue McGill College
Bureau 1500
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H3A 3H3

T 514 982-3355
T 416 777-9380
F 514 982-2550

Sélectionner une page

Litige fiscal

Prix de transfert

Planification fiscale

Barsalou Lawson Rheault

Barsalou Lawson Rheault est reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs cabinets d’avocats en droit fiscal au Canada. Nos avocats représentent une clientèle œuvrant dans diverses industries, dont plusieurs compagnies du Fortune Global 500.

Depuis plus de 20 ans, le cabinet a développé une expertise de pointe en matière de litige fiscal, prix de transfert, fiscalité internationale, crédits d’impôt (RS&DE, commerce électronique et ressources), taxes indirectes ainsi qu’à l’égard de questions fiscales complexes affectant les entreprises, les particuliers et les fiducies.

SERVICES

Litige fiscal

La pratique de litige fiscal du cabinet couvre tous les types de différends tels les vérifications, oppositions, demandes aux autorités compétentes et appels judiciaires devant les tribunaux provinciaux et fédéraux du Canada.

Notre équipe de litige fiscal est dotée d’une expérience de pointe pour la résolution des différends dans les domaines des prix de transfert, crédits d’impôt (RS&DE, commerce électronique et ressources), taxes indirectes, divulgations volontaires, demandes péremptoires d’information, traités fiscaux et révisions judiciaires. Les membres du cabinet représentent régulièrement les clients devant les tribunaux fédéraux et provinciaux, tant en première instance qu’en appel.

Au stade des autorités compétentes, nous agissons dans plusieurs dossiers de procédure à l’amiable (PA), arrangements préalables en matière de prix de transfert (APP) et procédures accélérées relatives à l’autorité compétente (PAAC). De par sa vaste expérience et son expertise étendue en litige fiscal, notre équipe vous offre des solutions pratiques et innovantes susceptibles de protéger adéquatement vos intérêts tout en favorisant un règlement rapide des litiges.

Prix de transfert

Le cabinet est reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs cabinets au Canada en matière de prix de transfert, tant en matière de planification que de litige fiscal. Nous représentons plusieurs compagnies multinationales relativement aux enjeux fiscaux canadiens, que ce soit à l’égard de transactions, de provisions d’impôt FIN 48 et autres obligations de divulgation ou encore pour défendre les droits des clients en vérification, au niveau des instances administratives ou autorités compétentes et, en dernier recours, devant les tribunaux.

Nos avocats aident régulièrement les clients dans la gestion des risques de prix de transfert associés aux opérations courantes, restructurations d’entreprises (par ex. : fusions, acquisitions, ventes) et autres réorganisations telles la migration ou la mise sous licence de propriété intellectuelle. Nous conseillons nos clients pour la mise en place des meilleures pratiques pour la préparation de la documentation de prix de transfert afin d’optimiser la conformité fiscale et minimiser le risque d’ajustements.

Nous représentons aussi des contribuables lors de procédures à l’amiable (PA), arrangements préalables en matière de prix de transfert (APP) et procédures accélérées relatives à l’autorité compétente (PAAC). Nos avocats travaillent de pair avec les départements des clients chargés des affaires légales, fiscales et financières, ainsi que leurs conseillers externes, afin d’élaborer des solutions efficaces répondant aux défis posés par les règles de prix de transfert et de protéger la confidentialité des échanges.

Planification fiscale

Le cabinet offre à ses clients un vaste éventail de services en matière de planification fiscale liée aux structures de détention domestiques et transfrontalières, taxes de vente, réorganisations corporatives, financement, achat-vente d’entreprises, immigration, fiducies et organismes de bienfaisance.

Notre priorité est la viabilité des planifications proposées afin de minimiser les risques de litige avec les autorités fiscales. L’expérience de pointe du cabinet en matière de litige fiscal permet de jauger adéquatement ces risques et d’articuler des solutions optimales adaptées à vos besoins.

CONTACT

2000, avenue McGill College
Bureau 1500
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H3A 3H3

T 514 982-3355
T 416 777-9380
F 514 982-2550